Franken-Onleihe. People Like Us

Seitenbereiche:


Inhalt:

'People Like Us is also a reminder that - even in the darkest times - the extraordinary power of love can light the way' Fiona Valpy. 'A powerful, unforgettable love story' Gill Paul. 'A heartbreaking, beautiful story' Jenny Ashcroft. 'This is historical fiction at its absolute best' Liz Trenow. 'I nearly drowned and Walter rescued me. That changes everything.' Leipzig, 1930s Germany. Hetty Heinrich is a perfect German child. Her father is an SS officer, her brother in the Luftwaffe, herself a member of the BDM. She believes resolutely in her country, and the man who runs it. Until Walter changes everything. Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew. Anti-semitism is growing by the day, and neighbours, friends and family members are turning on one another. As Hetty falls deeper in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, she begins to fight against her country, her family and herself. Hetty will have to risk everything to save Walter, even if it means sacrificing herself... Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief. Why people love People Like Us: 'An outstanding and heart-breaking story of Nazism seen from the "other side": blind indoctrination is transformed into true heroism by the power of love' Sharon Maas, author of The Violin Maker's Daughter. 'People Like Us is part romance, part character study, part call to arms' Lizzie Page. 'People Like Us is an incredibly moving, utterly captivating, beautiful story of love, courage, and the strength of the human spirit. It was both heartbreaking and hopeful at once. The ending had me in tears' Rhiannon Navin. 'A heartbreaking and thought-provoking story about forbidden love during Nazi Germany. Had me gripped to the very end' Luke Allnott, author of We Own the Sky. 'Beautiful and absorbing - a vital story of kindness, and a reminder that humanity can flourish in the darkest of times' Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults.

Autor(en) Information:

Louise Fein holds an MA in Creative Writing from St Mary's University. Prior to studying for her master's, she ran a commodity consultancy business following a career in banking and law. She lives in Surrey with her family. People Like Us is inspired by her family history, and by the alarming parallels she sees between the early 30s and today.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies – nähere Informationen dazu und zu Ihren Rechten als Benutzer finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung am Ende der Seite. Klicken Sie auf „Ich stimme zu“, um Cookies zu akzeptieren und direkt unsere Website besuchen zu können